Simple, Delicious Salsa Recipe

My husband used to be the salsa king. He holds that title no more and I can’t say he’s disappointed. He tries to work himself out of a job with all of his famous dishes, I believe. 🙂 He shows me what to do so that I will do it and then he won’t have to anymore. I’d watched him make salsa countless times and he would never measure anything he put in his, so his would usually turn out different every time and he may not always like it. Me, being a woman, told him he should measure each ingredient so he could make adjustments until it was just perfect, write down what he did, and make the same salsa every time but, he, being a man, didn’t listen to me. You know, it’s kinda like when you tell them to read the instructions and they say “I’ll figure this out on my own woman! Because I’m a MAN.” So, we just smile and continue on with what we were doing. Anyway, while watching him, I calculated in my head how much of each ingredient would probably be perfect and decided to do it my way one day. I did and both he and his brother agreed that mine was better than any that Nick had made. 🙂 Nick was so not upset over that though. To him, that meant he wasn’t asked to make salsa anymore. He was FREE!

Since I just made this salsa a few days ago and it’s on my mind, I decided I would share it with all of you. I hope you enjoy it as much as we do.

This salsa isn’t made with fresh tomatoes. I haven’t created a recipe for that yet. But, that doesn’t mean this salsa isn’t delicious and the tomatoes being canned, makes it simpler to make.

Salsa

1 (15 oz) can petite diced tomatoes
1 (10 oz) can original rotel
Half a medium yellow onion (approx. 1/2 cup), diced
2 large cloves of garlic, minced
1 tsp. salt
1 tsp. cumin
1/8-1/4 tsp. cayenne pepper, depending on how hot you want it
1-2 tsp. fresh squeezed lime juice
1/4-1/2 C. fresh cilantro, chopped

Drain tomatoes. Do not drain rotel. Add tomatoes, rotel, onion, garlic, salt, cumin, and cayenne pepper to a skillet and cook on medium heat, stirring occasionally until onions begin turning clear. Turn off heat and add lime juice and cilantro. Stir well, taste, add more cayenne and/or cilantro if needed and let cool. Once cool, enjoy!

This salsa will stay good in the fridge for up to a week. If we aren’t eating it fast enough, or I make a double batch, I’ll freeze some. It freezes well. I put 1/4 tsp cayenne and 1/2 cup of cilantro in mine but, I understand that some of you may not like cayenne and cilantro as much as I do. 🙂 I LOVE cilantro! ALso, if you aren’t a fan of rotel, you could add about 2/3 of another can of petite diced tomatoes and a few of your favorite peppers. I haven’t ever done that because, in this house, rotel is a staple. 🙂 I will tell you that the rotel is not an overpowering flavor in this salsa. I suggest you go by the recipe first and then make changes to suit your taste buds later.

If you end up making this, let me know what you think, what changes you made (if any), and how it turned out.

We love this salsa, and I’m sure you will too. 🙂 Happy cooking!

Leave a Reply

